T

Testimonials

A Lovely Break
Beautiful, really beautiful. Loved the food, the room (Gigha Suite) and the attention to detail. Splendid views from the dining room. Already looking forward to a return visit. Andrew and his hardworking staff really look after you.
Cauliflowerlettuce, Tripadvisor - May 2015


Perfect Short Stay
Meant to leave this review last month, so apologies to Andrew and his team for the delay! We had only booked for 1 night but when offered the chance to stay for a second night we jumped at it - it's a lovely hotel with cosy rooms, great pub and best of all FANTASTIC food!! Everyone was friendly, helpful and good fun and we will definitely return to work our way through the menu!
Petfi29, Tripadvisor - May 2015


An excellent break away from it all
We were very well looked after by Andrew and his staff. The room was spotless, warm and very comfortable with an ensuite with huge corner bath. The views from the hotel are stunning. This is an ideal location for walking and very close to the beautiful Arduaine Gardens and Kilmartin Glen Archeological sites. Wifi was provided free. The Hotel is excellent value for money.
Mountain_ringlet, Tripadvisor - May 2015


Best Food on our Trip
Great for vegetarian options, really tasty food, good ales, comfy and large room. The restaurant has lovely views over the loch, the staff were really polite and very helpful, all the food was very high quality, including breakfast and packed lunch.
Caroline T, Tripadvisor - May 2015


Lovely Overnight
Excellent food in restaurant, great atmosphere in bar, friendly staff and a comfortable clean room with a brilliant en suite shower room. What more could you ask for in an overnight stay away from it all. Thanks to Andrew and all the staff.
DuncanEastKilbride, Tripadvisor - April 2015


Great Hotel
Top hotel with great staff, superb rooms, dog friendly and great food. Quiz night in the bar was good fun as well. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who likes a bit of peace and quiet for a break.
Planz2014, Tripadvisor - April 2015


2nd visit!! Still Brilliant!
2nd visit just as fabulous as last year's stay. Brilliant weather this time. In Arran Suite and view over the loch is amazing. Food and service equally good.
Mary J, Tripadvisor - April 2015


Wedding Meal
My husband and I got married on the Old Pier at Craignish last week - just the two of us, the registrar plus a photographer and a hairdresser/make-up artist as witnesses. For our wedding meal, we had booked a table at the Galley of Lorne Inn, and we're so glad that we did. We had a lovely table to enjoy the view from and a delightful meal, with attentive service. The taste highlight for me was the most incredible tasting raspberry sorbet! We enjoyed a comfortable seat on the big sofa while we enjoyed our coffees and will definitely return for a meal in the future if we're lucky enough to be back in the area. Many thanks to Andrew and the rest of the staff concerned.
Wren2015, Tripadvisor - April 2015


Lovely Location
We couldn't have chosen a more lovely location for our visit to the west of Scotland. The Galley of Lorne Inn is simple but comfortable and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The food is amazing and I would highly recommend a visit purely just for this.
Emma Roy, Freetobook - April 2015


The Perfect Escape
My partner and I escaped reality here for a night, we had a beautiful dinner in the restraunt, a lovely spacious room to sleep in with a gorgeous view outside. We spent alot of time outside enjoying the fresh air during the corse of the night which was beautiful views to look over. I'd reccomend anyone to go here, it's friendly cosy and fun the drive is just amazing too. Everything your looking for in an overnight :)
Jojohairuk, Tripadvisor - March 2015


Margaret and Jim
This was our first visit to The Galley of Lorne Inn but it won't be our last. Our host Andrew could not do enough for us, from our early arrival to our departure the hospitality was fantastic. We upgraded this package to half board for a very modest £22.50 per head. It was a very good move; the standard of meals served was comparable if not better than many good city centre restaurants, well worth the money. The room was more than adequate, modern and very comfortable I could not fault it. The bar is a whisky lover’s dream, you name it they probably have it in stock. From the more modest of malts to some over fifty year old although that malt comes at a price. Good food and whisky aside the real stars of the Inn are the owners and their staff, they made our stay so enjoyable this will not be our last visit to this establishment. If only they could have done something about the weather, well maybe next time. Thanks again for a great break and both Margaret and myself hope to visit sometime in the not too distant future.
Margaret and Jim, Tripadvisor - March 2015


West Coast Hospitality at its Best
Quality service is top of the hotels list, the room was pre-heated and spotlessly clean. There is an excellent welcome pack in the room with information on all local attractions and the hotel is in a fantastic location, perfect for exploring the west coast area. Andrew is a great hosts and so friendly. The quality of the restaurant food is amazing and great value. Easily competes with any of the restaurants in Oban. The full breakfast alone is so worth the visit. The bar is well stocked, boasting 50 top quality single malts and a selection of real ales, all reasonably priced. Great ambience with a log fire heating the room. No wonder it’s so popular, top tip -with only seven rooms book early to avoid disappointment. Hope to stay here again.
Willie and Sandra, Tripadvisor - March 2015


Fantastic
Got this as a Christmas gift from our daughter. What a lovely place. Unfortunately we only stayed one night, we tried to extend our stay but unfortunately it was fully booked for that weekend. With it being Feb the weather didn't allow us to explore the surroundings. Did get to see the corryvrecken (whirlpool) though. Food and service was outstanding. Will definitely be back. In the summer :-)
Shirlz50, Tripadvisor - February 2015


Excellent
After arriving to a very warm welcome we went on to spent a very comfortable two nights here. The bar has a great atmosphere to the extent we chose to have dinner here, from a superb obviously locally produced menu. Staff GREAT !!! Only bad thing about this break was that we weren't staying longer !!!! Will definitely be back.
Blackstot, Tripadvisor - February 2015


All ingredients for a great family celebration
We recently stayed as a party of 9 to celebrate a family birthday. Welcomed by Laura who gave us a tour of the bar and lounge before issuing us with our keys for the well appointed rooms. The hospitality we received over the 2 nights was outstanding. Meals which were excellent could be eaten in the lounge or bar area and the set valentines menu was a hit with all and great value for money. I can only thank Andrew, Laura, Wullie and the rest of the staff for making our weekend a memorable one!!
Lynnew22, Tripadvisor - February 2015


Secret Proposal
It is hard to know where to begin following such a memorable experience for me and my (now) fiancée. The Galley has held significance in our family for over 25 years (we are the 2nd generation of visitors) and I cannot recommend Andrew's hospitality enough. Having travelled 12 hours from the south coast of England for a 3 night break at the Galley, we were instantly made to feel at home and shown to our room (the Skye suite). From this very first meeting Andrew and Laura could not have been more helpful and accommodating during our stay with them, something consistent with fellow reviews. It had always been my intention to bring my partner to The Galley for a secret valentine proposal as the hotel was a favourite of my partner’s late father. This emotional connection to a venue has already formed the catalyst for us to return in the future. Some will say that my review may be perceived as biased, frankly I could not care less, I will wax lyrical to anyone who asks me about the Galley as it is superb! The Skye suit was in keeping with the style of the venue, very comfortable and with a view to die for. I would highly recommend you to pay the supplement and book this room, the view alone was worth the money! We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner with the staff at the Galley. The choice and quality was second to none and I have left Scotland with a real penchant for haggis and black pudding! I must make a special reference to the Galleys' (and more specifically Andrew's) Whisky menu. I have always been a lover of single malt whiskey, however, a few hours of reading the detailed menu (and tasting a few!) I am a far more educated whisky lover (I can highly recommend the local distillery tour also!). I look forward to seeing this information on the new website in the coming months. I could go on and on (although I am sure I would lose the reader) about the location, atmosphere, service and experience that is the Galley of the Lorne. My advice......go see for yourself, one thing is for sure you will not be disappointed.
DarrenSims, Tripadvisor - February 2015


“Just about all round perfection”
I stayed for two nights in this hotel with my family and friends. I had read trip advisor reviews before I came to stay and was pretty confident that this would be a great break. We arrived mid afternoon and were met by Laura - she was extremely friendly and immediately gave us the feeling of being part of a lovely family run hotel. Our rooms were ready and we were shown to them. They were very nicely decorated clean and fresh. We were happy by our choice of hotel for our stay. We were looked after by Laura and she could not do enough for us. We were made to feel that our stay was so important to her and that really made us feel special. We then met Willie the chef - a Glaswegian who immediately became a character whom was only too keen to please us with his food. We were not disappointed the food was of an exceptional quality. We then met Andrew the host - he had been most helpful with our bookings and additional requirements that we had. We also met his wife who was also very interested in us, our stay and how the hotel could enhance our experience - the answer was that they couldn’t! We had a brilliant stay and would definitely recommend to our friend and family. The views surrounding the hotel were breathtaking...you really need to visit to see what I mean.
Tonks99, Tripadvisor - February 2015


“Comfort, friendly staff and excellent value.”
With family and friends, I stayed at the hotel on Boxing day 2014, overnight. It was my first time in this part of Scotland, but two of our party had stayed here before and recommended it to us for this year. The hotel was chosen carefully as my daughter is in a wheelchair. On arrival, Laura showed us to our rooms and answered any questions articulately and assured my daughter of there being no access issues throughout the hotel. We had booked three rooms and all settled in quickly, before meeting in the bar. Our evening meals were first class, served very professionally and that just topped of what had been a long day for us all. Breakfast was excellent and the standard of service was as before. Having slept soundly in very comfortable rooms, we were ready to continue our journey. The hotel`s location was stunning and I wish we had had more time to enjoy it. As we come up to Scotland each New Year, I am sure we will be returning to the Galley of Lorne in the future.
Roy Gerrard, Tripadvisor - January 2015